Back to All Events

Jack Gantos

Jack Gantos

Author of Hole in My Life, Desire Lines, The Love Curse of the Rumbaughs, The Trouble in Me, Joey Pigza series, Dead End Norvelt, From Norvelt to Nowhere, and Jack Henry Adventures series

Bio: Jack Gantos has written books for readers of all ages, from picture books and middle-grade fiction to novels for young adults and adults. His works include Hole in My Life, a memoir that won the Michael L. Printz and Robert F. Sibert honors; Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key, a National Book Award Finalist, Joey Pigza Loses Control, a Newbery Honor book, and Dead End in Norvelt, the 2012 Newbery Award Winner, and the Scott O’Dell Award Winner for Best Historic Fiction.

While in college, he and an illustrator friend, Nicole Rubel, began working on picture books. After a series of well-deserved rejections, they published their first book, Rotten Ralph, in 1976. It was a success and the beginning of Jack’s career as a professional writer. Jack continued to write children’s books and began to teach courses in children’s book writing and children’s literature. He developed the master’s degree program in children’s book writing at Emerson College and the Vermont College M.F.A. program for children’s book writers. He now devotes his time to writing books and educational speaking. 

Awards and Honors: Desire Lines (TAYSAS Reading List, 1998-1999); Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key (National Book Award for Young People's Literature- Finalist, 1998; Lone Star Reading List, 2000-2001); Joey Pigza Loses Control (Newbery Honor, 2001); Hole in My Life (Michael L. Printz Honor Book, 2003, TAYSHAS Reading List, 2003-2004); Dead End in Norvelt (Newbery Medal, 2012; Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction, 2012)
Teacher's Guides: Dead End in Norvelt, From Norvelt to Nowhere, Joey Pigza Series, Hole in My Life, Jack Henry Series

Earlier Event: November 3
Elizabeth Eulberg
Later Event: November 3
Kami Garcia